Cheap Meals: Spinach and Sausage Pasta

4 Apr

One of the easiest ways to save money is to make your own food.  Buying lunch or dinner every day can really take a toll on your wallet.

However, it may be daunting to sort through the millions (billions? gajillions?) of recipes on the internet and in cookbooks to find worthwhile meals.  Instead, I will post a few of my favorite recipes in hopes that you’ll enjoy them too and can end your internet searching!  The recipes that I feature will all be easy, fairly cheap, and healthy… and will usually make enough to have leftovers for a few more lunches or dinners!

To begin… today’s recipe is Spinach and Sausage Pasta.  Quite delicious, if I may say so myself :)  I’ve made it twice now and both times were fantatsic!  The recipe, with my changes below, made enough for dinner and lunch for my boyfriend and I.

yummmmm!

I found the recipe on Budget Bytes.  If you haven’t checked out the Budget Bytes website yet, I suggest that you do so ASAP!  It’s full of these easy, cheap, and nutritious recipes that I love!

I made a few changes to the recipe on that site; I used 12 oz. of pasta instead of 8 and 3 cups of chicken broth rather than 2.  My BF doesn’t like cheese, so we left that as an optional add-on to our individual bowls (and I loaded up on it!).  Also, I added mushrooms when adding the broth and tomatoes (because I had some on hand and needed to use them up) and completely left out the green onion.  Even with the changes to the original recipe, it was quite fantastic!

Side note:  If a recipe calls for those extra little garnishes (green onion, chives, parsley, cilantro, etc) that you don’t have or don’t want to buy, don’t fret.  It normally won’t ruin the dish!

Leave a Reply

